Text-to-speech

Pocket TTS requirements, license & speed

By Kyutai · released 2025-12-29 · 100M parameters

Commercial useYes
Min memoryNot stated
Runs on CPUYes
StreamingYes

Key facts

License
cc-by-4.0 source
Commercial use
Yes source
CC-BY-4.0 per HF metadata (repo gated); bundled voices have their own licenses (kyutai/tts-voices)
Parameters
100M source
Minimum memory
Not stated by source
Runs on CPU
Yes source
Runs on CPU using 2 cores; ~6x real-time on MacBook Air M4 (vendor figure)
Streaming
Yes source
Voice cloning
Yes source
Languages
en, fr, de, pt, it, es, nl source
Released
2025-12-29 source
Hugging Face repo creation date (proxy for release date)
Gated on HF
Yes accept terms on Hugging Face before downloading

Measured speed & memory

Benchmark pending. We haven't measured Pocket TTS yet. Planned targets: Raspberry Pi 5, CPU-only x86, Apple Silicon Mac and consumer GPUs. Get notified.

Accuracy

We don't run accuracy evals. For quality and intelligibility, check the Hugging Face Open TTS Leaderboard.

Similar TTS models

Spotted an error? Report it. Every fact links to the model card or repo it came from.

New open speech models: will they run on your hardware?

One email a week: new open TTS/STT models, license gotchas, and what we measured on CPUs, Macs, Pis and consumer GPUs.