Text-to-speech

Chatterbox (Multilingual) requirements, license & speed

By Resemble AI · released 2025-04-24 · 500M parameters

Commercial useYes
Min memoryNot stated
Runs on CPUUnknown
StreamingUnknown

Key facts

License
mit source
Commercial use
Yes source
MIT; outputs carry Perth neural watermark
Parameters
500M source
Minimum memory
Not stated by source
Runs on CPU
Unknown
Streaming
Unknown
Voice cloning
Yes source
Zero-shot, cross-language
Languages
23+ languages source
Released
2025-04-24 source
Hugging Face repo creation date (proxy for release date)
Gated on HF
No

Measured speed & memory

Benchmark pending. We haven't measured Chatterbox (Multilingual) yet. Planned targets: Raspberry Pi 5, CPU-only x86, Apple Silicon Mac and consumer GPUs. Get notified.

Accuracy

We don't run accuracy evals. For quality and intelligibility, check the Hugging Face Open TTS Leaderboard.

Comparisons: Kokoro vs Chatterbox

Similar TTS models

Spotted an error? Report it. Every fact links to the model card or repo it came from.

New open speech models: will they run on your hardware?

One email a week: new open TTS/STT models, license gotchas, and what we measured on CPUs, Macs, Pis and consumer GPUs.